The 3 lessons I have learnt from my crowdfunding debacle

Everyone likes to be able to boast about how successful they are, so I was devastated when my crowdfunding campaign only manifested 10% of my funding goal. I curled up in bed and wished the world would just disappear, in good old introvert fashion. Then I went into anger. I was angry at everyone and everything. Why, oh why, did I do such a thing? Why did I have to keep humiliating myself? Followed a good ten days of lashing out and self flagelation. Then Christmas came and I had to pull my socks up. I mean, my husband didn’t even know I had launched and run a crowdfunding campaign on Publishizer. It would be too long to explain why but let’s say I am a cabinet writer. By day I am the busy mum of four kids, two of whom have autism and extremely complex needs and two of whom I home educate. I do most of my writing before everyone wakes up. My husband doesn’t know much about my writing because one, I don’t want him to read what I write, and two, he would worry that I overcrowded myself. I have a tendency to do that. 

Now that I have somehow recovered (although I am not sure I will ever completely) from the shock of the magnitude of my failure… I am ready to find the blessings in the situation. The lessons. Because you see, I know (I am a spiritual teacher) that there are always hidden benefits in every situation no matter how dark they seem. So what are the three gold nuggets I can find in my crowdfunding debacle. 

  1. Taking action is always better than not taking action: if you don’t do things, nothing happens. If you do something, you have 50% chances of succeeding and 50% of failing. That’s already 50% more than if you don’t do anything. With writing, it takes a lot of work to succeed. There is no flash in the pan succes. You hear about successful writers when they are successful but rarely before that. Their “instant” success might have taken them twenty years. JK Rowling is a good example. Thank God she never give up. Me and my children would have not had the pleasure of reading her books. And as the witches and wizards that we are who live in a Muggle world, it would have been unbearable. 
  2. Becoming an author requires becoming visible: A majority of authors are introverts who would prefer to spend time in their homes reading books rather than dealing with real people. Most of them cringe at the idea of becoming visible. What if someone criticises their work? What if they get haters? If you want to get your work out there and if you want to get it published, you have to understand that haters are a sign that you are doing your job of being authentic. You cannot attract the right crowds to you if you try to please everyone or try to avoid offending some. Stand up for what you stand for. Your message is too precious to water it down. I was crippled by the fear that coming out as a medium would ruin my reputation as a clinical hypnotherapist and even as a writer. I was also scared of being exposed as a fraud. I had to work past that to launch my crowdfunding campaign and that was very beneficial. 
  3. To succeed you have to fail first: I never thought I would embrace that concept before but the fact is that most people who are successful have also experienced failures. But what makes them different is that they haven’t let their failures stop them from trying again. Thats’ why perfectionists who let their inner critic cripple them never achieve anything and become critics instead. So there are two categories, the doers and the critiques. Which one would you rather be? 

I could probably find more gold nuggets in this experience. I hope you like those three. 

To your writing, 

(C) Ange de  Lumiere2016

Leave a Reply

